What can I do to help him without losing myself completely?

mental-health
self-care

I don’t want this to become a huge rant but this is my first time posting and I just feel like there’s so much I have to get off my chest. My loved one is struggling, hard. But then sometimes I feel like he is addicted to the drama, addicted to the pain because it validates his own feelings about himself and it means he can be the victim of an awful disease that he has no control over. Now I know addiction is a disease, I mean who would choose to live as addicts do, but what I don’t get is the constant blame of other people, the lack of ownership over his actions and the repetitive nature of them.

Also I have felt for a long time that I am to blame or at least am making things worse and not better by supporting him and not letting him hit rock bottom. But to be honest rock bottom could be death for all I know as I don’t think anyone else would step in here and his other mental health issues (anxiety and depression) just make it so much harder to give the tough love that sometimes I think he needs.

To give this rant some purpose I’m going to make sure I ask questions.

Firstly, what do I say when I am blamed for his addiction? For example, I am constantly manipulated into driving him somewhere he shouldn’t be going, because he can’t drive and is likely to get himself in a fight or arrested if he goes alone, then once he’s had his fix he throws it back in my face - ‘you were the one that drove me to get the drugs in the first place!’