How do I tell the difference between a rule and boundaries

boundaries

I am really struggling with boundaries for my adult alcholic son. My boundaries are like rules still. Fir example my son works for me and it is not going well. He has shown up at work under the influence, stolen money and lied about being in the office when he was drinking at the pub . I told him that if he carries on drinking he cannot work for the company is that a rule.
I can’t seem to grasp an understanding between the two

I certainly don’t know what the clinical experts would say but I have been an Office Manager for 40 years and have also been in your shoes with an adult alcoholic son. I thank God every day for God’s healing hand on our son, who is now in recovery! I say this only to give you hope! It was so very difficult and had progressed to a very dangerous point and he is now 28 and sober. So, although boundaries and rules are so important, just keep loving him where he is while you take care of yourself as well.

I would say in regard to the work situation, you would have to have clear rules/policies, and high would mean that he can’t show up at work drunk, or be drunk during work hours. He also can’t steal from the business or do anything that other employees would not be allowed to do. Period. That would be a require To keep you and your business out of legal trouble with other employees, even if it’s only one other employee.

I would consider a boundary something you put in place to protect you and/or loved ones on a personal level. These are absolutely necessary too. That differs for everyone and it is extremely difficult to do, but necessary.