How do I make sure my needs and feelings are addressed without triggering him?

trust
recovery
rehab

Posting on behalf of a Village member:
Ok, this is my first time posting to this group and I need advice or understanding. I’ve been in a 16 year relationship with an addicted partner. I finally stopped enabling and refused to allow him to live with me if he continued to use. That was followed by months of him disappearing for days on end only to show up broke and exhausted on my doorstep out in the cold. And while I did allow him in to sleep and recuperate, he was never allowed access when I wasn’t home. At the end things were bad and harsh words were spoken to be fair on both sides but I knew I had to stay strong. Eventually though, after much coaxing he finally made the call on his own to enter an inpatient rehab. He went in vowing to get clean for himself and for us so that we might actually have a real life together. And that sounded wonderful and all Id ever hoped for but heres where I got blindsided. He came out of rehab bitter towards me for having put him out of the house claiming he had been homeless and that was abuse in his eyes. He needed time away and now wants to take it slow to try and rebuild our relationship. He says its not me he just needs time to work on him and that so much of our past is now a trigger. As you can imagine this was exactly the opposite of what Id been waiting for for so many years. All that might have been ok but he made a female friend in particular while in rehab and they are now in the same Recovery house we got him set up in. He was not forthcoming about that and indeed lied by omission ( he was the one who told her about the place he was going and actually helped get her in ) and while he assures me she is only a friend, I have not met her, spoke to her and quite frankly wonder whether she even knows about us. He claims they bonded in rehab and she is a new friend, who now takes him to work and transports him to dr appointm