I'm a 20 year old wife trying ti support my husband in a behavioral hospital

rehab

Hi! I dropped my husband off at a behavioral health hospital last night and I visited him for the first time today. I am absolutely drained, the hospital won’t give me any information outside of “we’ll talk about that at the discharge meeting” but won’t give me any idea on when that might be. I’m a full-time student and work part time with special education elementary students, I’m on summer break now but start school in roughly 30 days. Everyone is asking questions that I don’t have an answers too. When I am around him, he will be talking to me then his eyes glaze over and it’s like he is somewhere else, his sense of time and the situation are off. I would have to guess he is dissociating from the stress of everything. He calls and says he misses me and talks about possibly coming home soon. He is trying to deal with no substances to help him through this but he keeps asking me for them without a care who hears it. We talked about joining group sessions and he is considering trying one. I don’t have the heart to tell him why I don’t seem like myself when I am around him but can’t muster the energy to watch my words and protect him in his state. Seeing his pain breaks my heart and haunts me, I know this is probably necessary for my husband to heal but he just seems like a completely different person. He has never really been on board with medications but now he is taking medications and he’s just going the motions of being there. He says he knows that everything is his choice but he doesn’t feel like it’s a choice. I just to know I’m not alone in this and there is a chance that things can get better.

It feels like I’m drowning and the waves keep pushing me further down.

After a while, he finally seemed to come down to reality and that was worse than seeing him off in another world.

Does this institution have a social worker or therapist for you? They usually do.